top of page
  • Writer's picturejessica link

Game of Thrones Continue

This timeline continues on from my first post 'Making Sense of Timelines'. As a quick recap, I've covered the landing of Aegon on Westeros shores and the Conquering of the seven kingdoms, as well as the reign of the first eight Targaryen Kings:

  1. Aegon I (1 - 37 AC)

  2. Aenys I (37 - 47 AC)

  3. Maegor I (42 - 48 AC)

  4. Jaehaerys I (48 - 103 AC)

  5. Viserys I (103 - 129 AC)

  6. Aegon II (129 - 131 AC)

  7. Aegon III (131 - 157 AC)

  8. Daeron I (157 - 161 AC)

The dates included above are the years in which each of these Targaryen King's sat on the Iron Throne. Aegon I ruled the longest at 37years, with Aegon III and Viserys I having the next longest rule at 26years. For further details about what happened during these kings rules, check out the first post.

This post will be covering the remaining Targaryen King's until Aerys, including the Blackfyre rebellion but stopping just before Robert's Rebellion at the end of Aery's reign. The Targaryen kings that will be covered in this post are:

  1. Baelor I (161 - 171 AC)

  2. Viserys II (171 - 172 AC)

  3. Aegon IV (172 - 184 AC)

  4. Daeron II (184 - 209 AC)

  5. Aerys I (209 - 221 AC)

  6. Maekar I (221 - 233 AC)

  7. Aegon V (233 - 259 AC)

  8. Jaehaerys II (259 - 262 AC)*

  9. Aerys II (262 - 283 AC)

At the moment, there isn't a lot of cannon information available for the much of these ten king's reigns. In fact, the information about Jaehaery's the second is contradictory. In some cannon sources, Jaehaerys was the sickly son of Aegon V who survived the fire at Harrenhal and ruled alongside his sister-wife for between two and three years before dying of illness and leaving his son Aerys to rule. In other cannon sources, Jaehaerys was the brother of Aegon and he ruled as regent for between two or three years before Aerys was of age to take over the throne. And in other sources, Jaehaerys the second never sat on the throne at all.

Despite mentioning Jaehaerys in the above list of Kings, since no events were accredited to his reign, he will not be included in the timeline of events. Jaehaerys the second is a cannon king that can be accepted or denied until George Martin confirms which theory about him is true.

Daeron Second of his Name, King of the Andels, the Rhoynar, and the First Men; Lord of the Seven Kingdoms, and Protector of the Realm

  • 195 - 196 AC: Daemon Blackfyre stakes a claim on the Iron Throne. Daemon Blackfyre argues that Daeron II is the product of an illegitimate relationship between Queen Naerys and her brother Prince Aemon, the Dragonknight.

  • 197 AC - to thank the Dornish for their aid during the first Blackfyre Rebellion, Daeron II marries his younger sister Daenerys to Prince Maron Martell.

  • 200 AC - Duncan the Tall faces trial by the Seven. Following this trial, Ser Duncan begins his great friendship with Prince Aegon 'Egg' Targaryen, the fourth son of Maeker.

  • 209 AC - The Great Spring Sickness

Aerys First of his Name, King of the Andels, the Rhoynar, and the First Men; Lord of the Seven Kingdoms, and Protector of the Realm

  • 209 AC - Aerys is appointed King of the Seven Kingdoms

  • 210 AC - Second Blackfyre Rebellion is cut short by Bloodraven who exposes the plans of the Blackfyre loyalists. He captures some of Blackfyre's sons and executes many of the conspirators.*1

  • 211 AC - The Golden Company is formed by Bittersteel, Daemon Blackfyre's half brother.*2

  • 220 - 222 AC Bloodraven, Maeker, Duncan the Tall and Aegon 'Egg' put down the third Blackfyre Rebellion.

Maekar First of His Name, King of the Andels, the Rhoynar, and the First Men; Lord of the Seven Kingdoms, and Protector of the Realm

  • 227 AC - Aerys dies childless, leaving his younger brother Maekar to take the throne.

  • 228 AC - notable name, Oleanna Tyrell is born

Aegon the Fifth, Aegon the Unlikely, King of the Andels, the Rhoynar, and the First Men; Lord of the Seven Kingdoms, and Protector of the Realm

  • 233 AC - Aegon the Unlikely, the fourth son, becomes king

  • 233 AC - Duncan the Tall becomes a member of the Kingsguard

  • 233 AC - Bloodraven is exiled to the Wall for killing a Blackfyre under truth.

  • 233 AC - Aemon Targarian, a Maester and older brother to Aegon V, joins the Night's Watch

  • 234 AC - notable name, Tywin Lannister is born

  • 240 AC - Fourth Blackfyre Rebellion as the Golden Company launches an invasion at Massey Hook.*3

  • 233 - 258 AC - Aegon V's rule was prosperos for the Seven Kingdoms but also full of conflict as he tried to enact populist reforms

  • 256 - 258 AC - War of the Ninepenny Kings / Fifth Blackfyre Rebellion

  • 258 AC - King Aegon and his son Prince Duncan are killed in a great fire at Summerhill

King Aery's the second, Mad King Aerys, King of the Andels, the Rhoynar, and the First Men; Lord of the Seven Kingdoms, and Protector of the Realm

  • 258 AC - King Aery's reign begins with promise as he replaces the old men of court

  • 258 - 260 AC - notable name Rhaegar Targaryen is born

  • 258 - 260 AC - Aery's is impressed by the ruthlessness of Tywin Lannister after he puts down the Reyne-Tarbeck Rebellion. Aery's appoints him as his Hane of the Kind

  • 261 AC - notable names Cersei and Jamie Lannister are born

  • 265 AC - notable name Tyrion Lannister is born

  • 270 AC - Cracks begin to appear in Aery's demeanor

  • 275 AC - Cersei Lannister and Melara Hetherspoon visit a woods-witch called Maggy

  • 275 AC - The Defiance of Dukendale

  • 276 AC - Viserys Targaryen is born

  • 278 AC - Steffon Baratheon and Cassana Baratheon die as their ship sinks in Shipbreaker Bay.

  • 278 AC - The Great Tourney of Harrenhall

*1 - This is an estimated start date of when the Second Blackfyre rebellion took place based on other cannon information mentioned around this time period.

*2 - It is assumed the formation of the Gold Company took place directly after the end of the Second Blackfyre Rebellion.

*3 - The fourth Blackfyre Rebellion doesn't have an exact date of starting but is assumed to have taken place at the start of Aegon's reign.

As you can tell, this timeline isn't as comprehensive as the previous timeline. There isn't currently as much trustworthy information for these hundred years as there is for the first hundred and fifty years of the Targaryens reign and the events following Harrenhal.

It's going to take me some time to document me some time to document the events of each of the books but be on the lookout for an update!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Making Sense of Timelines Game of Thrones

I've made it my mission to make sense of timelines of different books and movies! Lots of movies, TV series and books don't always make sense. It gives me a headache to try and keep it all straight, s


bottom of page